December 18, 2020

Episode 174 – Helmut Walcha Plays Bach

Another pull from our LP library. This one isn’t quite so random as it features some works of Bach appropriate for the holiday season. Helmut Walcha again and once again at the Great Organ of the Laurenskirk in Alkmaar, The Netherlands.

Album: The Works of Johann Sebastian Bach Series F: Organ Works
ARC 3030
Artist: Helmut Walcha

Helmut Walcha

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue in C major (BWV 564)
Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (BWV 645)
Kommst du nun, vom Himmel herunter? (BWV 650)
Chorale Partita on “Sei gegrüßet, Jesu gütig (BWV 768)
Wie soll ich fliehen hen (BWV 646)

Organ: 1722 Franz Schnitger III/84 St. Laurenskirk, Alkmaar, Netherlands

Great OrganSwell Organ
16 Open Diapason8 Prestant
8 Prestant8 Bear-pipe
6 Quint-Prestant8 Chimney flute
4 Octave8 Quintadena
3 Quint4 Octave
2 Octave4 Floit dous
2 Flak-Fluit, Flute3 Spire flute
II Tertian2 Super-Octave, Fifteenth
II Rauschpfeife2 Spire flute
VI MixtureII Sesquialtera
16 TrumpetIV Sharp, high mixture
8 Viola da gamba (reed)III Octave to mixture
4 Trumpet8 Trumpet
8 Oboe
8 Vox Humana
Choir OrganPedal Organ
8 Prestant22 Principal
8 Quintadena16 Prestant
8 Diapason half stopt12 Fourth below the diapason
4 Octave8 Octave
4 Flute6 Quint
3 Stopt-flute4 Octave
2 Super-Octave or Fifteenth2 Cor de nuit
2 Forest-FluteIII Raushfpfeife
1 1/3 QuintVI Mixture
II Sesquialtera16 Trombone
VI Mixture8 Trumpet
III Octave to mixture4 Trumpet
8 Trumpet2 Cornet
8 Bassoon
8 Vox humana

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *